24 Hours of Personal Scrum: A Quest to find where all my time Goes

I have a prolonged procrastination problem, which I am fighting everyday and I loved the idea of rule of 3.

Rule of 3

Rule of 3 is basically picking up top 3 things that you want to accomplish in a certain period of time, in a day,week,month of year.

Pomodoro

So, I wake up at 7.30 in the morning and decided i will document everything that I will be doing next 24 hours and picked my top 3 goals. It was a weekend, so easy for me to document. Besides I used the famous pomodero technique of time management which leads us to pick a task for 25 minutes, focus relentlessly on the task for 25 minutes then take a 5 minutes break. After 4 Pomodoro’s(120 minutes) it suggests a big break of half an hour and it also suggests to count distractions in the 25 minutes Pomoderons and find out progress of concentration lapses in the periodical time.

Pomodoro1

So my top 3 goals was :

  • Read a a 200 page book and practice concepts mentioned there.
  • Write a Blog on 2015 top 3 words
  • File application for a program that I really want to get in

Below I shared how it went as time progressed,

Pomodoro’s/Breaks Accomplished Task/Details Distraction Numbers
P1(7.30 A.M to 8 A.M.) read 5 pages of book, I guessed more None
B1(8 A.M. to 8.30 A.M.) Made some breakfast and tea for me, also brushed teeth. watched TV in this time too
P2(8.30 A.M. to 9 A.M.) Read 8 pages from the book, practiced some concepts None
B2(9 A.M. to 10.00 A.M.) Went to Facebook, Mailed some people, bought some vegetables, Made some Tea, Called some folks  
B3(10.00 A.M. to 11.30 A.M.) Bought groceries for myself for the whole week ahead, as I am avoiding outside food now-a-days, Lost to find something that was couldn’t find  
P3(11.30-12.00 A.M) Started Reading again, reading speeded up, I  was on page 36 now.  
P4(12-12.30 P.M.) Continued reading, practiced.  
P5(12.30 –1 P.M) Reading slowed down, I was on page 42 now.  
P6(1-1.30 P.M) Reading Continued, grasped some concepts there  
B4(1.30-2 P.M.) Lunch and Shower  
B5(2-2.30 P.M) Reading Continues, I was on page 51 now.  
P7(2.30-3 P.M.) wrote some codes, practiced some concepts of the code.  
B6(3-3.30 P.M.) Read some blogs, did some reading on Mailchimp integraiton  
P8(4-4.30 P.M) Wrote a Blog Post  
B7(4.30 –5 P.M.) Talking with a friend over phone, I generally talk with this friend longer than this  
B8(5-5.30 P.M.) Blog sharing and Evening snacks  
P9(5.30 –6 P.M.) started the application Talked with uncle in between.
B9(6-7P.M.) Talked with uncle,Mum  
P10(7.30-8 P.M) Finally done with my application  
B10(8-8.30 P.M.) Meeting with some volunteers regarding some initiatives  
B11(8.30-9.30 P.M.) Dinner, calling a friend, fb  
P11(9.30-10 P.M) Started with study again..  
B12(10-11 P.M.) Went for a workout  
B13(11-12 P.M.) Read some blogs  
B14(12-2 A.M.) Sleeping, I love the polyphasic sleeping, it was my first phase  
P12(2-2.30 A.M.) continued reading  
B15(2.30- 3 A.M.) Brushing teeth, tea, reading some creative stuff  
P13(3-4.30 A.M.) this was the longest phase of reading, advanced a lot  
B16(4.30-6.30 A.M.) had my second phase of sleeping  
P14(6.30-7.30 A.M) went for a morning walk to enjoy fresh weather.  

At the end of the 24 hours, I found I over-estimated my reading ability and got distracted, that’s why I couldn’t complete the whole book reading. I reached up to half, but if I could get out of the distraction I could have managed up to 150.

Another hypothesis I made that I need to enhance my reading skills, finding the gist as early as possible, this could help me a lot to grasp concepts and do work thus efficiently.

I found the best way to enhance reading skills, is to keep reading and continue to apply different strategies like faster skimming, than look through concepts and so on. I am still working on it, I will share as soon I make significant advancement on it.

2 thoughts on “24 Hours of Personal Scrum: A Quest to find where all my time Goes

Leave a comment